PDA

View Full Version : Equipment to Photograph Blueprints

ctindall
22-Apr-2007, 09:37
First, please forgive my ignorance... I know nothing about photography.

I would like to build a table for photographing large format blueprints (up to 48"x36"). I envision that this would consist of a digital camera attached to an adjustable support above the table. Through trial and error, we would determine the proper camera height for different sizes of paper.

This is not going to be used for production photography. I am an engineer and I need an effective and inexpensive method for sending my red lined construction drawings to another office. Wide format color scanners are WAY too expensive.

If a device is available for this application I'd sure like to know. Any tips would be appreciated. Feel free to send me an email: chris (at) tindall (dot) pro

Ralph Barker
22-Apr-2007, 12:02
Although what you describe is a large version of a typical copy stand, I think you need to define a few more parameters, Chris. Note, too, that this is a large format photography forum, so, within that context, most of us would approach the problem using 4x5 or larger film in a view camera.

The first question I'd have is how the remote office is going to use whatever you produce? Will they just be viewing the annotations, already having a copy of the blueprints? Will they need to add further comments of their own? Will they need to print the result to scale? Any to-scale reproduction would get rather involved using a typical digital camera.

How are the drawings created in the first place? If they are created from a computer-based design/drafting program, you might be better off looking into annotating the original files - assuming you and the other offices also have the same software.

JW Dewdney
22-Apr-2007, 13:23