PDA

View Full Version : Ektar lenses on Tachihara 8x10/ lens boards??

NewtoLF!
20-Apr-2007, 05:39
Hi im completely new to LF and was looking at Ektar lenses 250-305mm & was wondering if they would fit on a Tachihara 8x10 which im hoping to buy. I read that the Tachi takes a sinar/ horsman lens board but i have no idea about the fitting of lenses to these boards? Also thinking of getting a G Claron whcih as far as i know is ok, but if you buy a lens on its own with no ring type or other accessory/ attachment will it automatically fit to the lens board? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, M> : )

Amund BLix Aaeng
20-Apr-2007, 05:42
Shouldn`t be a problem at all, I have a 12"/305mm lens in a Ilex 4" mounted on a regular Technica lens board, wich is way smaller than a Sinar lens board.

Mark Sampson
20-Apr-2007, 07:35
Any of the Kodak lenses will fit your camera, and any lens you buy should have a retaining ring or flange. The lensboard will need to have a hole drilled in it corresponding to the size of the shutter. The Kodak lenses usually have a #4 Ilex shutter, as noted above. (The 14" Commercial Ektar is found mounted in an Ilex #5.) A flange screws into the front of the lensboard, or the retining ring holds the lens in place from the back. You can drill your own hole in a blank lensboard, or find one pre-drilled. A spanner wrench is very useful for attaching the lens. If you're not handy a camera repair shop can do this work, it's a standard thing for them. Look at the SK Grimes website for a list of shutters if you want to DIY.

John Kasaian
20-Apr-2007, 07:37
My camera has lensboards measuring 6"x6" which is a fairly typical size lensboard for self casing 8x10 cameras, and will easily accomodate a 250mm (10") Wide Field Ektar which should come on a #5 Universal shutter. Any of the G Clarons will be no problem as only the largest of these comes in a "dainty" (compared to the Universals) #3

About mounting: