PDA

View Full Version : Pyro question as regards exposure

Blueberrydesk
16-Apr-2007, 13:10
Hello all. I'm confused by something in Gordon Hutchings' book of Pyro that is probably just a misunderstanding on my part, but I figured I'd ask the experts.

On page 11 the statement is made that film developed in PMK should be exposed to produce "underexposed" silver density. I read this as saying that PMK does better with slightly underexposed images.

However, on page 45 under Exposing Negs for Optimum printing, it is stated that "if the shadow areas receive too little exposure, the shadows will look dark and muddy in the final print." and then goes on to state that it's not possible to get optimum values in the print if the neg has been underexposed.

I apologize to Mr. Hutchings if he takes exception to my posting a small excerpt of his wonderful book, but this part has me baffled. I'm pretty much a complete noob when it comes to darkroom work, and am just about to start with PMK. I'm going shooting this weekend, and am just looking for some guidance as to preferred exposure for this developer. i.e. over or under.

I'll be developing in BTZS tubes, shooting FP4. Any help is, as always, greatly appreciated.

Paul Cocklin

Eric Woodbury
16-Apr-2007, 13:42
Page 11 refers to the fact that the total negative image as seen by the print is the silver image and the stain image. Page 45 is like a warning, Don't Underexpose. This is true.

Ideally, one exposes for the shadows and gives no more than is necessary. More exposure just adds to enlarged grain. However, underexposure is deadly. As Gordon points out, underexposure leads to muddy shadows. So, given the choice, over expose, especially if you are using a larger negative. Typically with larger negs, you don't care about grain.