PDA

View Full Version : Need advice for developing B/W at home

Ben Chase
14-Apr-2007, 14:52
Hi folks,

I've been shooting color and B/W for the last 6-7 years, always having the professional lab in town processing all of my film, and I'm beginning to come to the realization that to get the results I want with B/W, I'm going to need to process myself.

Here are some of the challenges that I need to overcome:

1 - Very little room for trays, etc in both of my bathrooms.
2 - Uncertainty about the hardness/softness of my tap water supply
3 - I'm a developing NOOB.

Essentially what I want is:

1 - The ability to precisely control the development process (temperature, time, etc)
2 - Preferably low-profile (doesn't take up a lot of space) equipment.
3 - Advice on how to dispose of used chemicals safely.

I've really only shot just T-Max, as I've been spoiled on the Readyload/Quickload habit since I started LF. So in addition, I'm not exactly sure where to begin with shooting some of the other Ilford films. I'm about a 80% Landscape, 10% Architecture, and 10% Portrait shooter.

Thoughts?

Thanks,

Ben C

Nick_3536
14-Apr-2007, 15:45
What format[s]?

Jobo type setup doesn't take up a lot of room.

Ben Chase
14-Apr-2007, 15:48
Exclusively 4x5.

Ash
14-Apr-2007, 16:05
Try to find a PATERSON ORBITAL. You can develop up to 4 sheets at a time with minimal solution, and it is fairly space-saving. I'd recommend looking into a Jobo tank or a Yankee tank or something for larger quantities.

Paterson Orbital is fine for me as I shoot 4x5 few and far between compared to 35mm and 120.

sparq
14-Apr-2007, 16:10
Patterson Orbitals are hard to come by in the US (at least on the East Coast). I use the Unicolor print drum method that is described in great detail on this site. My results are very consistent; I get nice thick and even negatives. The only catch is to get the right drum and to stop its leaking. :)

Erich Hoeber
14-Apr-2007, 16:49