PDA

View Full Version : Learning Traditional Darkroom...

GhoSStrider
12-Apr-2007, 11:42
Good Afternoon All,

One of my goals as I get more and more involved with LF is to learn how to develop and print B&W in a traditional dark room. I'm curious, in today's world, what's the best way to learn how to do this?

I know I could take a photo course that covers this, but the courses that I've seen that offer this kind of stuff are usually 35mm based, and usually are intro courses that cover the very basics of photogrphy. Since I've been shooting 35mm, Medium Format and Digital for 15+ years, I'm worried that I'd get a little bored in the class.

Is darkroom technique (especially related to LF) something that can be easily learned from a book? Or would it be best to take a basic course, and sleep through discussions about shutter speed, aperture, etc. etc.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Chris

Eric Biggerstaff
12-Apr-2007, 11:55
You can learn a lot from books, but hands on is best of course.

Here are a few ideas:

1) Take a darkroom workshop. There are many, check out the Ansel Adams Gallery Workshops, Maine Phtographic Workshops, Sante Fe Photographic workshops or Anderson Ranch ( although Anderson Ranch has gotten out of traditional methods workshops I believe). Also, many well known photographers offer one on one workshops, can be expensive but worth it. Check out Allen Ross in Santa Fe.

2) Ask down at Camera Obscura gallery if they know any local workshops. Seems I remember there being a local group in downtown Denver who teaches workshops.

3) Find a local LF photographer who can show you the ropes. There are many in the Denver area, find a few and contact them. They may charge you a fee but it is worth a try. I might be open to it depending on what you are looking to learn and when you are wanting to have the lessons.