PDA

View Full Version : Arca Discovery

mario abba
13-Jun-2000, 11:24
Sorry for asking the usual question, but I was wondering if anyone that has expe rience with Arca Swiss Discovery could post opinions and suggestion about this c amera. It sounds good but I'm not sure how easy is to carry around, how quick is to work with and how compact is when it is folded. I'm new to the world of larg e format camera and I need something light and quick to work in the field. I und erstand that there are cameras on the market that makes the job of calculating m ovements, depth of field and etc... for you (I think Sinar), and what about Arca ? Thank you very much for your time, Mario.

Larry Huppert
13-Jun-2000, 14:02
I'm a user of an Arca Swiss metric, and love using it. I recently saw a used Discovery in a shop, and took a look at it. That is one great camera for the price! Can't speak to the easy of setup/compactness etc, but can say that full Arca Swiss quality is in the Discovery.

At one time, and for a very short time, Arca Swiss made something called a "Brainbox". The Brainbox helped with calculating focus point to get a certain depth of field. Although the Brainbox is listed in certain catalogs, it has not been available for years. There seems to be an occasional rumor that Arca Swiss will someday bring out a new brainbox based on electronics. It would be nice to see, but probably very unlikely it will every happen.

Allan Fontanilla.com
15-Jun-2000, 03:27
Mario,

I have the Discovery and have had it for about a month now. I am very happy with it. I too am quite new to large format but learning quickly. Yes, there are other cameras out there that are more compact but I chose the Discovery because it has full movements (silky smooth) and is not over burdened with knobs and levers- overall design is very intuitive.