PDA

View Full Version : Portable, inexpensive- fill flash for my 4x5

Albert Martinez
28-Aug-2000, 16:40
Greetings,

I was recently asked to take a couple of picture at a friends wedding with my 4x5. My first thought was to use available shaded light, for lack of a better word. It would be nice however to add a little fill flash just in case a light shadow developes under their faces, or to perhaps give the dress a bit more pop. I thought of reflectors, but never having used them, I thought of flash. Would something like a Sunpack work, the kind you would mount on the flash shoe of your camera? Their both aware I've never done this sort of thing before, but I would nevertheless like to do the best I can, within of course a reasonable budget.

Thanks again for your help,

Albert

Albert Martinez
28-Aug-2000, 16:44
I almost forgot to ask about film type, any preferences and why would be appreciated. I was thinking of Fuji Astia, but could really use all the speed I can get, so I am considering a faster film.

Thanks-Albert

Doug Paramore
28-Aug-2000, 16:51
Albert: I screwed a flash mount shoe off a junker 35mm camera to the top of my 4x5. I mounted it directly over the center of the lens, so the flash does not throw shadows to the side. You can also use a bracket such as a Bachrach bracket to put the flash above the camera and on center. I use Vivitar 283 flash, which has plenty of light. The Vivitar flash has a provision for a flash cord to reach the lens sync connector. It is an easy fix and it works great. I don't like mounting the flash to one side of the camera, as it makes shadows to the side.

Regards.

dave schlick
28-Aug-2000, 23:37