PDA

View Full Version : Why do you call Film Analog?

Bob Bell
31-Mar-2007, 20:42
So as I read more and more threads on this site I keep reading the term Analog in reference to Film. I am very confused by this as I am an IT Professional and Analog is the opposite of Digital (1's and 0's) only in the sense of data transmission or capture. Like how a Vinyl record has continously changing quantities (bumps in the grooves) and a CD is an organized collection of 1's and 0's.

Film is not electronic in nature but rather chemical so I do not understand why someone would use Analog?

I'm sure there are other words that are inherently confusing as it seems to be a trend in photography lately, such as crop factor :)

roteague
31-Mar-2007, 21:02
Just the way people like to label things. It is something we all do.

You are right, film isn't analog, it is chemical. And digital, really starts out as analog. The term "analog" came to be used for film only after digital cameras came out, and then used to mean "not digital". Digital cameras, really are signal processing devices, which capture an analog signal, then convert them to digital.

Alan Davenport
31-Mar-2007, 21:10
There is no technical reason why "digital" must contain only 0's and 1's. It could as easily contain 1's, 2's and 3's, or any other number base. However, what is important is that digital can only have certain discrete values -- a bit can contain a 0 or a 1, but nothing in between, such as 1/3.

Film is not limited to discrete quanta; a point on a negative can contain not only the exact values that correspond to the digital values 0, 1, 2 ... 255, but also any value in between. Film is analog.

Now that "crop factor" thing is just insanity rearing it ugly head...

Helen Bach
31-Mar-2007, 21:20
The image on a piece of film isn't an analogue of an image, it is itself an image. That, to me, is a defining property of film. The discrete/continuous argument appears to be irrelevant. Just my opinion, of course.