PDA

View Full Version : Another beginner camera selection question.

Chris Werner
9-Jun-2000, 10:44
Thanks in advance for your help and indulgence. I have spent a bunch of time re ading books and threads in this and other forums and am trying to settle in on a n initial view camera purchase. Heres the background on what Im thinking.

- I have been doing photography as a hobbyist off and on for 20+ years. My expe rience is purely 35mm, and mostly black and white negative film. I shoot primar ily scenic/landscape but want to do somewhat more architectural.

- I also do, at a relatively basic level, my own darkroom work. I would like to continue and expand this with the larger format, but may not do so immediately given the need to buy a new enlarger.

- I see a view camera as a complement to my 35mm equipment. I like the process of taking pictures, and with the 35mm I sometimes feel Im using a machine gun. I would rather (when I have the option) take my time getting one good picture t han blazing through a 36 exposure roll. I also anticipate enjoying the added co ntrol movements provide. While the larger negative is appealing, the process an d image control are the factors driving my desire.

- I want to start off inexpensive, like <$1,000. Later, when I have some experi ence and know better what I want long term, I will either upgrade or build a new one (Im a competent hobbyist woodworker as well).

Now my questions.

1. 4x5 or roll-film? No larger for me, at least for now. Im a little spooked by sheet film, particularly on the developing front. Should I be? Ive read ab out quickloads, but I wonder if a roll-film back would be a good idea. However, these seem to cost $400-$500, which will mess up my initial target price, and I ve also read that the smaller size is harder to focus.