PDA

View Full Version : Help with lens choice

Neil Genower
24-Mar-2007, 13:39
First posting here as I've just bought from e bay a Wista 45 SP.
I use Canon Eos cameras for my day job and want to get back into some "real" photography for pleasure, hence the Wista. Although I have been working as a photographer for over 20 years I'm not very familiar with 4x5's, so I hope the Wista is a good buy ? So having got the camera I now need a lens.
I will use the camera mostly for landscape stuff including urban landscape so was wondering what size and what make of lens to go for.
Many thanks.

Ron Marshall
24-Mar-2007, 13:54
Welcome to the forum Neil. The Wista is a nice camera, one that I almost bought.

Have you seen the lens chart on the front page of this site: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/LF4x5in.html

The diagonal on 4x5 is 153mm, while on 35mm it is 43mm, dividing one by the other, and ignoring the difference in aspect ratio (35mm is more elongated than 4x5), gives a conversion factor of about 3.5 to get from a 35mm focal length to the corresponding 4x5 focal length.

So roughly, a 90mm is equivalent to a 28mm on 35mm, 125mm to 35mm.

For urban landscape I would go for a 90mm and a 135mm.

Ernest Purdum
24-Mar-2007, 14:49
Many people would agree with Ron that a 90 and a 135 would be good lengths for landscape, but probably an equal number would suggest something longer. It'sl a very individual matter having how you see the potential subjects.

There is a potential problem with both 90 and 135mm lenses. Many have image circles too small for good use of your movements, Landscape work demands little movement capability, but even so it is frustrating to need a little front rise and run out of image at the corners. f6.8 90mm and f4.5 135mm lenses are apt to have small image circles, If in doubt about a particular lens, come back here with a question.

John Kasaian
24-Mar-2007, 15:41