PDA

View Full Version : working space for BW scans

Carioca
10-Mar-2007, 15:14
Hi,
I have started scanning some of my BW negs (as greyscale, 16bit). There is no color space assigned, so when I open them in PS, I'm asked which working space I would like to assign - dot grain, or gamma 1.8 / 2.2. What would be a suitable solution?

Thanks for your replies.

Sidney

Walter Calahan
10-Mar-2007, 15:19
Macintosh - 1.8

Windows / Intel - 2.2

Me, I scan B&W as a color neg and use Adobe RGB 1998.

Carioca
10-Mar-2007, 15:25
Thanks!

I have scanned about 180 negs the past few days...I have to stick to greyscale for the sake of HDD space...

Sidney

Scott Kathe
13-Mar-2007, 19:22
Sidney,

That's a lot of scanning. For what it's worth I'm just a beginner but I have found that scanning as a negative in RGB gives me sharper scans and I will have the same file size as you.

I scan as a color negative and in Photoshop I use the Channel Palette to split the channels into red, green and blue. The green is always the sharpest for me with my Epson 4990 flatbed so I throw out the red and blue channels and keep the green channel. It is now a grayscale file made from the sharpest channel and will be the same file size as your grayscale scan. Others have found the green channel is usually the sharpest at least with the scanner I'm using. The scans definitely take longer and the process is a little bit more involved but you can get a little more information out of your negatives that way. Is it worth it? Only you can answer that. I do it but I wouldn't go back and redo the number of scans you did.

Hope that helps,

Scott

Ron Marshall
13-Mar-2007, 20:19
It is a tiny bit more work to extract the sharpest channel, but the scan is noticably sharper and, as Scott has said, the same file size.

Carioca
14-Mar-2007, 02:05
Thanks to all for your help!