PDA

View Full Version : Calumet Cadet and roll film

Boris Kozintsev
14-Jun-1998, 23:01
Hi,

I am a total novice, and I am thinking about buying a new Calumet Cadet. As advertised at http://www.calumetphoto.com/, it is $750 with Caltar II-E 150mm f/6.3 lens or $400 without the lens.

My first question: is it a good idea to buy this lens or should I rather look for a better second-hand lens? Is it really possible to get a decent 4x5 lens for around $350?

My second question is about roll film which I absolutely want to be able to use. As advertised on the same site, Graflok adaptor for this camera is only $30. So far so good. But, "C2N 6X7 Slide-in Roll Film Holder" is $450! Is this the right price? If I get the Graflok adaptor, can I hope to get some used roll film holder for, say, under $100?

BTW, if someone has arguments that I absolutely should not buy this camera, I would be grateful to hear them. Do you think one can get a better [used] ready-to-go 4x5 camera with all the basic movements at this price range? I've already read mostly favourable reviews by Javier Henderson, Jay Schlegel, and View Camera Magazine.

Thanks. Boris

Ron Shaw
15-Jun-1998, 14:37
Im not familiar with that lens, but I think they are 3 element 'budget' lenses. THey probably work fine. Yes, you can get good used lenses for 350 or less. Go t hru the ads in Shutterbug, or View Camera magazine. The only real critisizm Ive read about the Cadet is its rather small tripod mount. Im sure that can be impro ved by a bit of thought and planning. Good luck.

Bill_92
15-Jun-1998, 15:29
Re the roll-film part of the question: