PDA

View Full Version : Scratching Efke Negs

alec4444
26-Feb-2007, 21:08
Hey Guys,

Still pretty darn new to LF and I'm cutting my teeth with 11x14 Efke sheets developed in a tray in Rodinal. I use a water stop and TF-4 Fixer. I'm having (albeit inconsistent) scratching problems on my negatives.

I began by developing four sheets at a time (only had two holders) then upped it to six sheets (got more holders) and have since lowered it back to four or less (still have more holders, but a bit of sense too). I've been developing them in a tray in my bathtub with normal agitation with the emulsion side up. I do rotate the sheets (one on top of the other) as I develop and fix them.

I've heard that Efke has a soft emulsion, and that a hardener added to the stop bath or fixer may help. I'm new to the hardenr thing so when I was in B&H I was unsure if the Heidco (sp?) hardener would work with TF-4 or if I would be accidentally making a bomb. (Although I'd imagine they'd tell me that if such were the case...)

Anywho, any tips for me? I thought that being careful would be enough, but that seems not to have worked (or at least not changed anything substantially). Could I be scratching it while trying to load the holder?

Thanks!
--A

vinny
26-Feb-2007, 21:18
Yes you could be scratching while loading or unloading. I've used a lot of efke and scratches appear from nowhere. I use hangers in tanks and that cuts down on most of them. I wouldn't dream of processing that film in trays unless one at a time.

vinny

Gary L. Quay
26-Feb-2007, 22:28
I use Efke extensively, and I've torn many holes in the emulsions. Recently, I've been using PMK Pyro developer since it hardens while developing. Something I do that may be of interest: take two of each image. Just flip the film holder over, and repeat your exposure. Efke's lower price allows a little more waste built into the process.

--Gary

reellis67
27-Feb-2007, 07:11