PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on lens board for Graphic View

Scott McMillan
24-Feb-2007, 05:42
I'm new to LF, so please be kind. I just received my first LF camera, a 4x5 Graphic View I. It has the Ektar 203/7.7 lens on a Flash Supermatic Shutter. I'm looking into a wider lens, since I'll mostly be using the camera for landscapes. I've seen several lenses at KEH listed as "(4x5) (35 mount)". Will these fit my current board, or do I need to find another? I measured the opening in the board, and it looks to be about 38mm. I surely would appreciate any help you guys could give.

Jim Rhoades
24-Feb-2007, 06:01
Find another board. Try Jim at MidWest. I believe that the 4" Calumet will work too. Some one who is sure will chime in here. Keeping that 203 mounted will allow you to do details of the landscape better than a wider lens. That Ektar 203 is about the best lens Kodak ever made.

Some day you may start packing in a field camera to do your landscapes. That's when a small and light 203 will show it's worth.

Walter Calahan
24-Feb-2007, 06:08
I suggest dedicating a lens board to each lens you own. Makes life simpler in the field. No having to unmount and remount lens.

Buy the lens you want for the desired focal length, then measure the lens for the size of the shutter, and get a new (used) lens board to fit. Midwest Photo is a great resource, also ebay has lens boards. Check with Jeff at Badger Graphics, too.

Bill_1856
24-Feb-2007, 07:10
I used a Graphic View for years, and found that it was easy to cut a satisfactory lensboard out of Masonite. The only time you'll need a factory board is the recessed board for wide angle lens. Enjoy it -- it's a great camera, and you may never need anything else for 4x5.

John Kasaian
24-Feb-2007, 08:09