PDA

View Full Version : resin coated versus fibre based?

kevin kelly
21-Feb-2007, 13:01
Hello I'm new to black and white printing and would like to know the pros and cons of fibre based and resin coated papers? Which is more permanent? What cost? (A few people have said I'm mad to bother with traditional techniques-I maybe a touch insane! But it probably helps...!

Gene McCluney
21-Feb-2007, 13:11
For such a broad general question, here is a broad general answer. Resin coated paper is quicker to process, and has probably a shorter lifespan, but the debate is still out on that. Resin coated is in general a little cheaper to purchase than fibre.

Fibre based paper is the choice of fine art printers, has greater depth, can be processed archivally, but takes longer in the darkroom to finish (Dev, fix, wash).

Oren Grad
21-Feb-2007, 13:31
You should search the archives here and at other discussion boards - there's been endless discussion on this, though much of it more heat than light.

Briefly:

Which looks better is a matter of personal taste. In my experience, whether the tonal characteristics of the specific brand of paper are a good match to the characteristics of the negative I want to print is as important or more important than whether a paper is RC or FB.

Re permanence, there is some evidence that treating RC prints with a protective toner (such as selenium toner) or a silver stabilizer (such as Agfa Sistan or Fuji AgGuard) goes a long way toward preventing the sort of spectacular short-term deterioration of framed prints on display that happens occasionally, and that understandably has scared many people away from RC. Stability of treated RC prints on very long-term display is unclear; however, long-term stability of RC prints in dark storage under reasonable environmental conditions should be excellent.