PDA

View Full Version : Sinar 10x8 on the way!

Paul Greeves
19-Feb-2007, 12:42
Hi. This is my first time in the forum and I'm looking forward to sharing and gaining lots of information on Large Format Photography. I've been using a Sinar 5x4 for some years with lots of success. Now, I feel the desire to move up a league to 10x8. I have a 10x8 camera on offer at a very good price. My first consern is how to process the film? I use Tmax 100 at moment and process using a Combi Plan tank, which is excellent for even processing. What would be a reliable method for 10x8 film. I would like to avoid a deep tank if possible. Does anyone have a method which works for them that they would like to share? Thanks.

Pat Kearns
19-Feb-2007, 14:50
Welcome Paul, happy shooting with your new 10x8. As far as processing the film, Jobo rotary processing, BTZS tubes, Unicolor & Beseler processing tanks and motor bases avoid the deep tank methods. Unicolor & Beseler tanks and motors are available on the online auction sites at reasonable prices. There is also the tray method. On the homepage there is an article on using a Unicolor processing tank.

Paul Greeves
19-Feb-2007, 15:04
Thanks Pat. I'll look into all of your suggestions. At the moment the tray method appeals the most. I did try this with 5x4 but got uneven development and scatches on the film. Could be down to using too small a tray? I'm not looking at processing lots of sheets at a time so trays my be worth another go. I'll check out ebay too for a second hand Jobo. At least with a rotary processor you require little chemistry. Has anyone had a positive experience with tray processing or tips for getting good results?

Paul Greeves
19-Feb-2007, 15:50