PDA

View Full Version : Scheimpflug - do I need it?

shaman
26-May-2000, 18:11
I am very new to large format, so please bear with me. I do know about Scheimpfl ug. I also understand, that once you have set lens and film plane at the angle d esired, there is an infinite number of object planes compatible with it (in book s often drawn like a wedge). Thus Scheimpflug does not garantee that the desired object plane is in focus and some additional rule seems needed (I believe calle d the "Hinge rule").

My question is this: What is Scheimpflug good for? My technique so far is to a) focus on the background, b) tilt the lens until the foreground is in focus (and repeat procedure several times to adjust for lens extension). Am I missing somet hing?

Ray Dunn
26-May-2000, 20:46
The Scheimpflug rule is only half the answer. As you point out, there are an infinite number of planes that satisfy the one rule. The other half of the answer is the Hinge Rule as stated by Dr. Merklinger on his page: fox.nstn.ca/~hmmerk.

Understanding these rules is not really necessary for good results. But a little knowledge about what is happening is nice to know when things don't always happen the way you think they should. The technique you describe is a good way to get the job done. I use the same sequence myself, but after reading about the Hinge Rule, I know about where to start. Don't worry about exact rules and measurements, this is art, not rocket science. Good luck!

fred_1006
26-May-2000, 21:41
I'm still searching for the value of "y"!

Bill Glickman
27-May-2000, 06:01