PDA

View Full Version : Hello From London UK

John_uk
16-Feb-2007, 07:54
Hi all,

Great forum you have here.
Im new to large format and if I could learn just a fraction of what you guys know Ill be well happy.

I bought a speed Graphic a few weeks ago(a 1954 model i think) and this week got a KL Biggs 4x5 technical camera. I cant seem to find much info on this camera apart from it being made about 1960ish by a company who went out of business 30 years ago.
They were evidently in HOVE, SUSSEX. (Any info would be appreciated.)
Anyway, all the best

John
ps dont laugh but i havent got any film holders yet so I can take some shot

Ash
16-Feb-2007, 08:27
Hi John,

Don't worry - last year I bought a Kodak half plate camera (mid-40's ish) and I took about one photo with it - I had to modify the half plate holders to take 4x5 film! I got myself a Cambo 4x5 last month and have been enjoying that a lot more. I'm trying to work my way around sorting the Kodak out at the moment.

Welcome to the forum, there are a lot of really nice and generous people here.

Ralph Barker
16-Feb-2007, 09:14
Welcome to the LF Forum, John.

Walter Calahan
16-Feb-2007, 09:52
London's calling . . .

Paul O
16-Feb-2007, 10:27
Hi John. This forum is an excellent resource with very friendly and useful advice. As you are based in theUK take a look at www.lf-photo.org.uk as "we" are a UK-based LF group. Paul

roteague
16-Feb-2007, 10:29
Hi John, welcome from Hawaii. Glad you found us, and I think you will enjoy being here.

Ernest Purdum
16-Feb-2007, 15:17