PDA

View Full Version : 4x5, PMK problems...

Sylvester Graham
31-Jan-2007, 07:40
I've been using PMK for a few years now with roll film. I'm now trying to use it with LF, and am having some problems. I have searched, and found a few posts relating to this exact topic. I used the suggestions found there as well as in Gordon Hutchings' book. Emulsion down, 1 cycle per 15 seconds. I'm using HP5 @ 13 min for normal, @ 70F.

I processed one fogged negative, and one real negative, the results are attached. The real negative looks fine, the fogged one... well, see for yourself. The real negative is complicated, so the flaws probably aren't visible, but I wouldn't want to process a negative with empty skies or anything with these results.

Any suggestions? I've tried this twice with the same results.
Thanks-
-Alex

David A. Goldfarb
31-Jan-2007, 08:02
Increased density at the edges is usually from using too small a tray. If you are using 4x5" trays, move up to 5x7" or 8x10", and be sure you have enough solution in the tray so the sheets move easily.

When tray developing I develop emulsion side up, and I divide the developing time into four periods and rotate the stack at each quarter. I also find that I get better results with two or more sheets than with one sheet, but don't do more sheets than you're comfortable with. Start with 2-4, and work your way up from there. Unless you are doing brush development (do a search to see what that's all about, if you're not familiar with it), I find that developing one sheet in a tray and rocking the tray will exaggerate the effect of increased agitation from the sides of the tray.

steve simmons
31-Jan-2007, 08:17
Try the procedure I outlined in an article in the Free Articles section of the View Camera web site. It has worked for me for 26+ years.

www.viewcamera.com

steve simmons

Doremus Scudder
31-Jan-2007, 10:57