PDA

View Full Version : Sinar part identification help needed

oppositelock
30-Jan-2007, 17:01
Hello,

I am in need of a part for my Sinar camera. I have tried contacting Sinar and my local dealer, but Sinar won't respond and the local dealer isn't very helpful.

I am in need of the small metal adapter that connects the carrier frame to the standard. I beleive I have a carrier frame that was compatible with the F standard (it was on an F1 when I got it), but I am trying to connect it to a P standard. The "adapter" part that was on there did not fit-- the screws did not line up and the carrier would not have been centered if I had used it. I have pictures of both below.

If anyone can identify this piece by name-- or better yet, by part number-- I would certainly be appreciative.

I am new to large format photography, but have been involved with medium format and, of course, 35mm for years and years.

Thanks!

JW Dewdney
30-Jan-2007, 17:07
I believe it's just a carrier frame. But it's a carrier frame for a P2. That's the only camera that it will work with (unless you want to use the frame off a P).

David A. Goldfarb
30-Jan-2007, 17:29
If "contacting Sinar" means you sent an e-mail to Sinarbron, then I recommend calling them. They aren't very quick about responding to e-mail, but they are very helpful over the phone in my experience.

That said, I wouldn't be surprised if a used format frame for a P/P2 might not be less expensive than the part needed for converting this one, if it is possible.

oppositelock
1-Feb-2007, 06:02
Thanks for the responses. I wonder why a company would ignore its e-mail. I like the idea of just buying a new carrier frame-- I can sell the old one, too.

David A. Goldfarb
1-Feb-2007, 06:47