PDA

View Full Version : Zeiss Tessar Coverage

Gordon Moat
26-Jan-2007, 14:27
Greetings LF Forum,

Finally got my ancient Zeiss 21cm f4.5 mounted onto a Linhof board and onto my Shen-Hao. I did a quick look on the ground glass, and find that I run out of movements prior to running out of coverage. A search through the archives here indicates a 45º angle of coverage for a Tessar design. However, it seems that I have much more than that coverage even wide open at f4.5.

So seeing as how I have a degree in fine art, and not optics nor math, am I imagining the coverage to be larger? I used as much swing and tilt as I could, but did not exceed the coverage, even at f4.5. Is the angle of coverage actually greater than 45º or could this be a lens for 5x7 or even 8x10?
:confused:

Thanks for any replies.
:)

Ciao!

Gordon Moat
A G Studio (http://www.allgstudio.com)

Arne Croell
26-Jan-2007, 14:38
Gordon, I didn't check on where you found the 45°, but that is either a typo (45 instead of 55) or refers to an Apo-Tessar process lens. The official Zeiss numbers for the f/4.5 series were 55° wide open, and 60° stopped down.

John Kasaian
26-Jan-2007, 14:50
Gordon,

Some tessars are like that. The 450 Nikkor M and the 14" Kodak Commercial Ektar that I have exhibit huge image circles, and are sharp almost to the very edges, quite unlike the usual tessars that are sharp in the center of the image circle and rapidly go to the worms the farther you stray from the straight and narrow. I have no idea why this is, but its kind of nice, isn't it?

Gordon Moat
26-Jan-2007, 14:58
Thanks for the reply Arne. I noticed your name often when I did the search, and I still have that issue of ViewCamera (July/August 2003) with your article. My thought was that I might have a process lens, since it is in barrel, and does not match any specifications in the chart with the article. So now it seems I have a regular lens, but my front filter size is much smaller than the M67x0.75 of your chart.