PDA

View Full Version : Help with negative problem

Robert Oliver
22-Jan-2007, 20:13
Curious if anybody could help figure out this problem with inconsistent developement of negatives.

TriX 320, d76 1:1, Jobo 4x5 6 sheet holder in tank processed in a unicolor drum for 11 minutes. (12.75min recommended with normal small tank agitation and I subtracted 2 minutes or approx 15% for rotary tube processing)

The streaks follow the direction of the rotation.

The picture in the link has had extreme level adjustment to make neg problems stand out better. In the real scan, the streaks are faint but very noticeable.

http://www.robertoliver.com/06045balboapark.jpg

Mark Sawyer
22-Jan-2007, 20:49
I'm not a rotary processing kinda guy, so take this with a grain of salt...

It's obviously an over-developed streak down the middle, which almost-as-obviously must be from be from some sort of turbulence/agitation/drainage issue in the developing solution down the middle of the negative during rotation, (ie: it's getting more agitation there, so it's developing more).

I'm not sure of a solution, other than maybe try more solution, (increase the volume ome developer in the tube). That might change the fluid dynamics inside, and keep the film in the developer longer during each rotation. Changing the rotation speed might affect it too.

Henry Ambrose
22-Jan-2007, 21:09
What was the total amount of developer in the tank? And which tank?

Robert Oliver
22-Jan-2007, 22:08
28 ounces of solution (1:1) in the tank that has room for only one 4x5 (6 sheet capacity) holder. Jobo multitank2 # 2521. There were 5 sheets in the holder.

photographs42
23-Jan-2007, 08:14
More information would help.
1. Has this happened before?
2. Were all 5 negs similarly affected?
3. Were these the first negs developed in the session? If not, could there have been residual fixer in the tube from the previous processing?
4. Did you use a prewash?
5. Was the developer freshly mixed or was it reused?