PDA

View Full Version : Zero Dents What does it mean

dalekbeth
13-Jan-2007, 08:19
Hello

I am new to Large Format Photography and am still in the need to get a camera. Can someone answer what does it mean for a camera to have Zero Dents?

Thanks

Dale

N Dhananjay
13-Jan-2007, 08:24
A damaged camera on eBay...

Jokes aside, you probably mean zero detents. As you are probably aware, view cameras typically have movements. The zero position is typically used to describe the condition when no movements are used and everything is completely square (i.e., film plane perpendicular to lens axis etc). Some cameras often have detents at the zero position, so that after you have used any movements, when you bring the camera back to the zero position, you can feel/hear a small click at the zero position. The camera would then be described as having zero detents.

Cheers, DJ

naturephoto1
13-Jan-2007, 08:27
Hello

I am new to Large Format Photography and am still in the need to get a camera. Can someone answer what does it mean for a camera to have Zero Dents?

Thanks

Dale

Hi Dale,

Zero detents are for the purpose of setting or resetting the camera tilts, swings, and possibly shifts to the zero positions by feel. When the camera is level and the zero detents are set this is/should be the original set-up position to take advantage of the lens capabilities for projection onto the film plane. Additionally, if things get a bit "out of wack" meaning things are not working the way the photographer wanted, he/she can then reset the camera to the original position via the zero detents.

Rich

John Kasaian
13-Jan-2007, 08:28