info on Toyos new Carbon Fiber Field camera but
haven't been able to search up much.

Can anyone tell me what their impressions or experiences
are with this camera?

Thanks!

Justin

roteague
11-Jan-2007, 10:51
Not worth buying, IMO. The CF's movements are so limited that it really makes the camera not too useful for landscapes.

JMyerz
11-Jan-2007, 10:51
thank you.

Ted Harris
11-Jan-2007, 10:57
I disagree on the movements, they are limited but useful for most landscape work OTOH I wouldn't buy one either .... just too cheaply made and hae a tendancy to fall apart, break, etc. You can get a nice new Tachihara for the same or less money that will last you a long time and givces you more movements; same for a Shen Hao but it is heavier.

Jean-Marie Solichon
11-Jan-2007, 11:45
Justin,
I have been using a 45CF for about two years. And I finally sold the 45AII which was the first view camera I bought 7 years ago. In my opinion a 45CF is better than the AII on features important for me :weight and movements of the front standard. When I need more features and I don't have to hike a lot I take my Sinar F2.
I tried a Tachihara and felt that the front standard was not as acurate as the CF's. Also the Tachi is less rigid specially with a 300mm which is my second most used lens.
Just my 2cts.

roteague
11-Jan-2007, 12:09
I disagree on the movements, they are limited but useful for most landscape work

Perhaps, but I can't see how you can live without the rear tilt. Not for serious landscape work.

C. D. Keth
11-Jan-2007, 12:20
Perhaps, but I can't see how you can live without the rear tilt. Not for serious landscape work.

Don't know. Even my old Korona has generous rear movements, even if the front movements are nearly nil.

Ted Harris
11-Jan-2007, 15:52