PDA

View Full Version : I Feel the Temptation of...

Colin Abercrombie
10-Jan-2007, 17:19
I feel the temptation of...buying cheap, out of date film. Its really really cheap! Obviously I have some questions, so here goes:

I am a total beginner with respect to everything 4x5; I have not even taken my first shot yet. I have a nice Crown Graphic with 135 lens and a film holder. I now need some color film to continue, and outdated Provia 100F sheets are available at low cost from an internet vendor.

1. The website states that the oldest film expired Aug, 2006. Can anyone think of a reason why there would be anything wrong with this film? It has been "cold stored."

2. (This is the most important question) Velvia 100 has been my usual film in small formats for mountain landscapes---I like it. Would Provia be an acceptable substitute? Cost is everything, and this Provia is less than 25% of the price of Velvia.

I appreciate everyone’s input and opinions! Just reading all the Q and A has been a tremendous help to me.

Thanks

Colin

Ash
10-Jan-2007, 17:36
All film is affected by age. Once the film gets past a certain point the chemistry basically deteriorates and you lose speed. I use expired b&w 35mm frequently. I don't have much of a problem since ISO-50 film is pretty slow to begin with, but ISO 400 has a loss in speed after a couple years - I'm shooting agfa apx-400 expired and it needs to be rated slower or push processed. I'm also using expired 4x5 film since it was the most available thing to me, and again, no real loss in quality because the film was slow.

I think with colour/slide film you need to compensate and rate it at about half the marked speed if it's expired more than a year (at a guess). Cold-storing protects the film to an extent, but damage is done by cosmic particles so it could be frozen for 10 years and be no better off than some in dry storage.