PDA

View Full Version : Grafmatics

stompyq
10-Jan-2007, 15:35
I am still new to LF and still learning so please pardon my ignorance. I'am very intrested in using grafamatics with my 4x5 wista but have no idea whether my camera needs to have a graflock back (mine does not). Can i just insert it like a regular holder in to the spring back?

David Starr
10-Jan-2007, 15:52
I am still new to LF and still learning so please pardon my ignorance. I'am very intrested in using grafamatics with my 4x5 wista but have no idea whether my camera needs to have a graflock back (mine does not). Can i just insert it like a regular holder in to the spring back?

They work fine with my Tachihara's spring back.

Neal Shields
10-Jan-2007, 15:55
I wouldn't. Grafmatics are about half again as thick as a normal film holder. Two grafmatics are about as thick as three film holders.

On my cameras with spring backs you are really risking breaking something.

Also note there are two different types of grafmatics.

Graflex.org has the most information on this.

Grafmatics are great fun to play with but can be finiky, especially if the septums have been damaged which is easy to do.

If you are just starting out you will have more than enough problems without adding any more complexity.

Go with regular film holders or a pack film.

william linne
10-Jan-2007, 16:34
I"ve used them dozens of times with cameras with spring backs. Never a problem. I disagree with the statement that they are finicky. Unless the septums are bent (which you can tell right away by just looking at them) they are pretty rugged and dependable. It's nice to carry four of them instead of 12 regular film holders. I find that they hold the film very very flat,too.

W.

Henry Ambrose
10-Jan-2007, 16:54