PDA

View Full Version : Obtaining a "Universal Back" for a Linhof 4x5?

XRe
10-Jan-2007, 12:50
I was lucky enough to inherit some gear from my grandfather. As part of the gear I have a Linhof Technika, several lenses, and a Super Rollex 56x72 (apparently the older vintage w/ tan leatherette), and the various support gear. Unfortunately, I don't have any of his Graflex backs, but... ;)

I'm extremely new to large format photography, so please bear with me. Using the Super Rollex would be a nice thing, for me, as I have other cameras that take 120 film, and scanning 120 film is much easier (and cheaper) for me, at this point.

I notice that there appears to be no way to attach the Super Rollex to the camera, but I've read here and elsewhere that the back was made to pop into some sort of Universal Back ??? In fact, with the GG removed, the back is too wide (just barely) to fit in the space at the back of the camera. There appears to be a plate on the camera side of the back that has two ball bearings, and a round "adapter" kind of thing - it obviously belongs with the back (painted the same color on the outside, etc). Its attached with 8 small screws to the rest of the back.

Sorry if I'm mangling terms, or I've totally misunderstood something. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

David A. Goldfarb
10-Jan-2007, 12:55
The Super-Rollex back should fit any Technika III or later. They all have an "International" back (which functions the same way as a "Graflok" back). Slide off the groundglass panel by pressing the two spring loaded silver arms and sliding the panel in the direction of the opening where a filmholder would be inserted. Move the two sliders to the "off" position, put the Super-Rollex in place, and lock it by moving those sliders to the on position.

You do not have to remove the entire rotating back to use a rollfilm holder, just the groundglass panel.

XRe
10-Jan-2007, 13:03