PDA

View Full Version : Good labs in Mexico?

claudiocambon
27-Dec-2006, 14:51
Any recommendations on processing 4x5" color and b+w neg film in Mexico, anywhere in the country? Does Kodak still use the Q-lab designation to indicate labs that perform consistently to their standards, or is there some other applicable moniker to look for? I may be there for a bit, and it would be nice to process as I work, as opposed to sitting on that huge pile of exposed but undeveloped film, always nervewracking to me. Thanks in advance for any info!

Claudio
www.claudiocambon.com

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
27-Dec-2006, 16:21
Where in Mexico? I am pleased with Navarro in Guadalajara.
http://www.fotograficanavarro.com/
They have processed 4x5 and 5x7 color negative and transparency for me. Their website says they do B&W, but I have no knowledge of their quality as I have my own darkroom.

I have been less happy with the Kodak Q-lab http://www.laboratoriosjulio.com

claudiocambon
28-Dec-2006, 08:50
Thanks, Jason.

The site now says they only do up to 220 for C-41. Have they reduced their services, or is it just that they don't list a service that not everyone asks for? I just want to make sure that they do it on premises, and don't farm it out to anyone else.

If anyone has recommendations for further South, in Mexico City or elsewhere, that would be very helpful as well. Thanks!

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
28-Dec-2006, 09:03
Claudio,

I haven't developed C41 with them for quite a while, so this may have changed. They developed some 4x5 E6 for me a few weeks ago, so I know they are still doing this. Anyhow, if they do LF color in Guadalajara I am sure you can easily find a decent lab in the DF, but I have no experience there.

roteague
28-Dec-2006, 10:12
Why don't you just FedEx the film back to your regular lab?

claudiocambon
28-Dec-2006, 11:10
Why don't you just FedEx the film back to your regular lab?