PDA

View Full Version : Optimum shooting apeture for 4x5

stompyq
25-Dec-2006, 08:54
I've been curious about this for a while. Theres a lot of information out there but non of it gives a clear answer. I routinly avoid going bellow f/11 with my DSLR b/c of diffraction induced loss of sharpness, and only go below when it's unavoidable (i still take a shot at f/11 too). I've been largly shooting at f/32 with my 4x5 gear Sometimes going to f45. Most of the time i do this not b/c of DOF but to avoid timing a shutter speed of 2 seconds or something (much easier to time 5-10 sec than 2 sec). Do you think I am missing out on sharpness? or is it a non issue with LF?

Ash
25-Dec-2006, 09:10
I'm no expert, my 4x5 hasn't even arrived yet(!), but I think I read on the page here (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/fstop.html) about it. If you aren't enlarging to huge sizes, then it's less important I think, but there's the reading if you want to research.

Jim Jones
25-Dec-2006, 11:18
Ash's link is a great source of information. There are simpler approaches, though. When a print is viewed from the distance that gives correct perspective, the camera lens aperture can be stopped down to a linear diameter (as viewed from the front of the lens) of about 5mm before diffraction begins to be noticable.

However, prints are rarely viewed in the correct perspective. Telophoto prints are usually viewed from a closer distance, and require larger linear apertures. The reverse is true of wide angle lenses. At f/11 a Nikkor 20mm has an aperture less than 2mm, while a Celestron C8 telescope with a focal length of about 2000mm has a fixed diameter of 200mm. Yet, prints from each are often viewed at similar distances.