PDA

View Full Version : Using Tiny Digital Camera as Light Meter - Question

andrew vincent
21-Dec-2006, 11:12
Apologies if this question has been asked a hundred times and I stupidly cannot find the thread (please direct me) but I have a Linhof master technika and have been using a Canon 350XT for exposure and histogram information and occasionally framing, since it's often more useful than my linhof viewer. It's great, but still big and bulky in the sack with everything else. Reading Ken Rockwell's review of the tiny Casio Z850, with its color histograms, I was thinking how wonderful it would be if I could just get some cheap, TINY pocket camera that I might even mount to the top of the technika for this purpose. Obviously the central and only main question is whether the exposure calculations and histograms would be accurate. Obviously, if I could carry a pentax spot meter as well, I'd do so, but like many, I've found the histograms on a digital readout- as well as immediate preview of multiple exposures- the greatest invention since the light meter itself, so I'm not about to give them up. I'd just like to get the size and weight down as low as humanly possible.

Does anyone have any experience they'd like to share in this regard, or have any suggestions for relatively inexpensive, tiny cameras that might do the trick? I'm not really interested in SLRs, since the XT is already the smallest SLR made, and is a bit too big.

Thanks!

stompyq
21-Dec-2006, 11:18
I use my D70 just like you use your XT. If you are going to use a small point and shoot to check the histogram i would pick one that has a RGB Histogram and go under the dark cloth to check. Just looking at the image would be really misleading b/c of reflections etc.

roteague
21-Dec-2006, 11:25
I can't see what value having a histogram would have on LF photography. The response of a digital camera is nowhere the same as film. You would be better off just using a good spot meter.

Richard Årlin