11-Dec-2006, 12:14
Hi

I'm a real newbie in the LF world.

You can see my introduction here

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?t=21642

I've just looked at
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/LF4x5in.html

and I've a "terrible" question for you...don't laugh please:D

How can I choose a lense which allow all the movements of the LF camera, which parameters have I to consider? thank you, ric

matthew blais
11-Dec-2006, 12:17
On the old Home page here
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses4x5.html

ric
11-Dec-2006, 12:24
On the old Home page here
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses4x5.html

thank you matthew

These are lenses for landscape pictures, and for architectural picture?

I'd like to know how I have to read this table

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/LF4x5in.html

and how I can understand which lenses cover all the movement of a specific LF camera (i.e. Gandolfi variant level1 4x5" camera) thank you again to everybody, ric

Ralph Barker
11-Dec-2006, 12:41
Ric, in addition to the lens article link Matthew provided, there's also a wealth of information in the other articles on the LF Home Page (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/) link at the top of the forum display.

In short, lens choice (IMHO) is a balance between focal length (how you "see" your subjects), the design characteristics of the lenses under consideration (image circle, maximum aperture, size, weight, "look", etc.), and cost. Although others, including myself, can give some insight based on our experience and preferences, it's your visual preferences that really count. That either takes study of the articles and prior lens-related threads here, or actual purchase experimentation.

Ole Tjugen
11-Dec-2006, 12:58