PDA

View Full Version : Negative Problem Diagnosis.

ageorge
5-Dec-2006, 16:57
I am new to film development and had a small problem with one of my negatives and was hoping that one of the experienced members here could help me understand what is causing this problem.

The details are: Film was T-max 100. I developed it with D-76 mixed 1 to 1 with water for 8 minutes and 25 seconds at 68F in a Jobo drum (2521) which I rolled back and forth by hand, one revolution about every 1.5 seconds. Stop bath 30 seconds, Fixer 7 minutes, 30 second water bath, Hypo 2 minutes, 5 minute continuous flow water bath, hang to dry overnight. Scanned the negative with an Epson 4990 flatbed scanner @ 2400 dpi in 16 bit grayscale mode.

Below is a image showing the part of the negative that has the spots.

http://alan-george.com/tmp/Picture-1.jpg

Here is a 100% crop of the spots.

http://alan-george.com/tmp/Picture-1_part.jpg

Are these water spots or something else? Is there a way to avoid/get rid of these?

Thanks in advance for your help,
-alan

Alan Davenport
5-Dec-2006, 18:29
Try adding Photo Flo as a final step in your workflow.

Glenn Thoreson
5-Dec-2006, 18:35
They look like water spots. Try rewashing and give em a good bath in distilled water before hanging. Hang by a corner. As mentioned, PhotoFlo helps sheet the water off so it doesn't spot. If you use it, ignore Kodak's dilution instructions. Two or three drops in a quart of water will suffice for your final dunk. Don't save it. Too strong, it can make an awful mess on your negatives.

Greg Nelson
15-Dec-2006, 11:48
I agree, but make SURE you mix the photo flow in distilled water and disgard it if you aren't going to use it again that day. One other thing that helps film to develop more evenly is a 5 minute water bath before development (though I doubt that's your problem here).

Bill Koechling
15-Dec-2006, 13:01