PDA

View Full Version : Scanner advice appreciated 4"x5" for A1 print

Ric Bower
5-Dec-2006, 07:54
I need to scan 4"x5" neg film for 24" x 30" exhibition printing, can anyone help me decide from this shortlist please; Microtek 1800F, 2500F, i900 or Epson v750? or rumour has it a new microtek mooted for Feb release?
Thanks for your help

Walter Calahan
5-Dec-2006, 08:26
Can you wait till February?

If your deadline is soon, get a Microtek 1800F or an Espon V750. Your call. Both are excellent machines.

Or simply get a drum scan now, and then wait till February to see if Microtek releases a new machine.

Adam Kavalunas
5-Dec-2006, 09:43
I'm no expert in this area, but I would suggest to forgoe all of those options in place of drum scans. For printing that large, nothing can compete with a good drum scan. If I was going to be showing MY work at an exhibition, I would never scan with anything else. Flatbeds and Imacons for that matter, are good for small prints maybe up to 16x20, but they lack significant shadow detail and I would never sell a print made from them, just my opinion.

Adam

Ted Harris
5-Dec-2006, 11:04
Ric, the i900 and V750 awe definitely out. Scanning for 20x24 with the 1800F is a real push, I wouldn't do it. Scanning for 20x24 with a 2500F is right at the edge of that machine's capability. Also, if you are looking at a new 2500F then I ahve to assume you are not in the States as they have not been available in North America for more about two years. They are still manufactured, just not sold in the NA market, long complicated story of internal company politics from what I know. As for the 1800F, it is a discontinued machine but there are still a very few left in the NA supply line.