PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 vertical tank

John Cahill
3-Dec-2006, 07:29
Another neophyte question. I have never liked developing sheet film in trays. But the tanks I have acquired take about half a gallon of chemistry. Has anyone heard of a way of using something, or making a suitable "mini" tank--kind of the size and shape of a slice of bread-- which would hold about eight ounces of developer for souping a sheet of film or, maybe two, on stainless steel holders? Rube Goldberg, are you still out there?

Ron Marshall
3-Dec-2006, 07:44
John, you might do something similar to what this person has done, but a bit slimmer:

http://davidhoulder.com/info/4x5tanks.html

Scott Kathe
3-Dec-2006, 07:46
Hi John,

I'm just starting out myself but you could invest in the BTZS tubes or make your own. I haven't done this because I haven't had a problem with tray developing yet. That may change though because I did get bored with the last set of negatives I developed. I'm sure listening to some music would help me out:) I've also used the 'taco' method and a Paterson 4 tank with some sucess.

John Cahill
3-Dec-2006, 07:55
Ron and Scott,
Thanks, Ron for that link. I should think that would work fine for me. I did not know that PVC is available in sheets. As I am headed for Home Depot and Lowe's this afternoon, I shall see what I can acquire.
Scott--what is the taco method with a patterson tank?

Ted Harris
3-Dec-2006, 07:59
The HP Combiplan is the closest thing I know of to do what you want. You will find lots of threads disussing it on the Forum. Look at it here http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=details&kw=HPT45&is=REG&Q=&O=productlist&sku=23845

Jerzy Pawlowski
3-Dec-2006, 08:16
I second HP Combiplan. You can try to get it from Jim at MidWest Photo Exchange. At least it was cheaper than from other stores about half a year ago.

Bruce Watson
3-Dec-2006, 09:22