PDA

View Full Version : Coverage from Schneider Xenar 4.7 135mm

Jean Nightingale
30-Nov-2006, 06:40
Hello
I purchased a Schneider Xenar 4.7 135mm just recently and will probably be returning it since shutter sticks at 1/15sec or less. However, I did try it out on my Sinar F2 and although I only lifted front by 1/2inch. the negs had vinyetted. Is this lens no use for 5x4 work? I'm new to large format so any info. greatly received.
Jean

Ole Tjugen
30-Nov-2006, 06:47
Any 135mm Tessar-type lens will only barely cover 4x5" without any movements at all. Tessar-type lenses include (but are not limited to) Tessar, Xenar, Skopar, some Ektars, Raptar, ...

Louie Powell
30-Nov-2006, 06:50
The Schenider Xenar 135mm f4.7 was intended for use on 4x5 press cameras and has very limited coverage. These cameras have very restricted movement capabilities, and couldn't take advantage of lenses with significant coverage.

Its not unusual to find a Xenar on a top-rangefinder Crown Graphic - that combination produces reasonable results when stopped down to f11 or better as long as no movements are involved. But it does vignette badly if the lens is raised or shifted.

Ernest Purdum
30-Nov-2006, 09:53
You can get more coverage in one of two ways. You can go to a longer focal length or to a lens that works at a wider angle, not necessarily a "wide angle" lens.

The "normal" focal length for 4" X 5" is about 150mm. Tessar tyoe lenses such as those Ole mentioned will give adequate coverage if about this length, or good coverage if significantly longer.