PDA

View Full Version : New to LF - Diafine/Daylight Tanks for 4x5

dagabel
20-Nov-2006, 14:01
Hi All,

I'm new to 4x5 and would like to develop my own B&W film. I already do this using Diafine for my 35mm rangefinder work, so it's a process with which I'm somewhat familiar. However, I'll need to buy or build a new daylight tank solution for sheet film, and I need the cost to be rock-bottom, to start. The volume of chemistry is not an issue, as the Diafine can be re-used.

What are my options? Do the homemade tubes work OK with Diafine, or should I go with something like one of the Jobo 25xx tanks with a 4x5 film reel? Any other solutions which might be out there?

Also, how about agitation with Diafine? For 35mm I use a plastic tank and therefore agitate/invert the Part B solution every 30-60 seconds or so, just to prevent the chemical trails from building up. I'm confused as to whether a similar method would be best for sheet film, or the manual tube-rolling technique I've read about.

Any suggestions would be appreciated - thanks very much for your help!
Duane

Bob Salomon
20-Nov-2006, 14:45
The Combi-Plan T is a daylight tank for 45 that also functions as a film washer. Sold by most camera stores.

Ron Marshall
20-Nov-2006, 15:00
I use both the Combi Plan and Jobo Expert drums. Both will give evenly developed negs. I much prefer the Jobo, easier to load and fill, less chemistry required. Jobo drums are occasionally available for about 50% of their cost new on ebay and APUG. If you buy used you will make up the price eventually is savings on chemicals. But the Combi-Plan is a fine alternative, especially for semi-stand.

If you have a darkroom the cheapest solution would be to build a slosher.

Bill_1856
20-Nov-2006, 15:04
I think that Diafine is particularly well suited to tray developing. Suggest you do that for a while before deciding that you need a tank.

dagabel
20-Nov-2006, 15:06
Thanks, Bob and Ron.