PDA

View Full Version : Fast LF lenses? Which ones at about 150mm?

Bill Glickman
26-Apr-2000, 01:57
It seems most new LF lenses are optimized at apertures of f16, f22 and sometimes even f32 (their MTF curves support this). Rather slow lenses. In the past, w hen 4x5 press cameras were the standard for photography with motion, i.e. boxin g matches, news conferences etc..... was the lenses used on these cameras optimi zed for shooting at very wide apertures like 5.6 or 8? Or were these lenses als o optimized at the smaller apertures but used at the wider apetures due to the n ecessity for speed?

Assuming their MTF's were optimized for wider apetures, which of these lens es in the 150mm focal lenght range represents the most modern and high resolutio n optics for 4x5? I want to shoot some fast moving landscapes like waves crashi ng on rocks. (I realize DOF will suffer) I have little knowledge of these type lenses, and would appreciate any input? Also, if there is any new LF lens that I have overlooked that also meets this criteria, please advise. Thank you all i n advance for your help.

John Lehman
26-Apr-2000, 06:12
In the days before computer lens design, designers generally did not try to opti mize MTF's :-) Many of the classic lens designs work best stopped down about th ree stops (I have crudely checked this for some of the ones I own against a USAF lens test chart). For Typical press Tessar designs, this means between f/8 and f/11. A 150mm Kodakf/4.5 Ektar is a good example.

Two non-Tessar designs which perform well at larger aperatures are the 203 Kodak f/7.7 Ektar, which performs best wide open, and of course the f/2.5 Aero Ektar (about 180mm if I remember correctly -- I have one, but it is in my closet in Al aska and I am in Asia at the moment and so can't check).

Doug Paramore
26-Apr-2000, 09:28