PDA

View Full Version : LF newbie here, Sydney Australia

Mark Straughen
11-Nov-2006, 18:43
Hi all,

Just a quick introduction, my name is Mark Straughen and I have just made the switch from Digital SLR to 4x5 LF. Having shot purely Digital for the last 4-5 years, went out and took my first 3 LF shots this morning, must admit it was abit daunting, quite anxious to see the transparencies when I get them from the lab !

I'm sure I'll be posting here quite regularly, as it almost feels like I am learning photography all over again !

roteague
11-Nov-2006, 19:43
Hi Mark, welcome aboard. I was just in Sydney about two weeks ago for a couple of days - I was passing through on my way home from a shoot in Alice Springs, NT.

Ron Marshall
11-Nov-2006, 20:05
Welcome to the forum Mark, and to large format.

Capocheny
11-Nov-2006, 21:12
Hi Mark,

Welcome!

I have to agree with you. Shooting large format after shooting other formats IS a bit like learning a new language... especially when it comes to the movements!

But, a lot of good folks here will help you reduce the learning curve in a big hurry!

Have fun! :)

Cheers

Shen45
11-Nov-2006, 22:32
Hi all,

Just a quick introduction, my name is Mark Straughen and I have just made the switch from Digital SLR to 4x5 LF. Having shot purely Digital for the last 4-5 years, went out and took my first 3 LF shots this morning, must admit it was abit daunting, quite anxious to see the transparencies when I get them from the lab !

I'm sure I'll be posting here quite regularly, as it almost feels like I am learning photography all over again !

Welcome from Adelaide.

This is a good list to be on and you will be amazed how quickly you get the hang of all the large format "stuff"

It is so much fun.

Craig Griffiths
12-Nov-2006, 02:33
Welcome from Brisbane. Steve is right, an excellent place to learn. Enjoy it.

VuiChong
12-Nov-2006, 03:12