PDA

View Full Version : I have a compulsion...

Eric James
4-Nov-2006, 20:59
...to crop to my film's aspect ratio. (I shoot 24 X 36 mm and 4 by 5 in.)

Is this normal?

Ron Marshall
4-Nov-2006, 21:04
I like to shoot 5x7 as well as 4x5. The aspect ratio of 5x7, 1.4:1, is close to that of 35mm.

I crop to whatever aspect ratio suits the image, but mostly I prefer that of 5x7 over that of 4x5.

Peter Lewin
4-Nov-2006, 21:21
I don't think there is a "normal" standard. Personally I crop (if I have to) until I like the final image, and that is more likely to result in a print with a different aspect ratio than the full-frame negative. I'm usually cropping foreground or a side, and I don't eliminate other parts of the image just to keep an aspect ratio.

Sheldon N
4-Nov-2006, 22:15
I think I feel the same compulsion. I started shooting 35mm, and moved from that to 4x5 then 6x6cm. I typically compose images that tend to fill the frame regardless of whatever format I'm shooting.

More recently though, I have found that the 35mm aspect ratio is feeling a little too rectangular for me, and that I'm starting to see a little bit more in the 4x5 or square aspect ratios. A lot of my 35mm stuff is getting cropped to 8x10's, especially when printed in the darkroom.

Eric James
4-Nov-2006, 22:27
I much prefer the 5 X 7 aspect ratio - I think it's perfect for my compositional tendencies. I shoot 4 X 5 largely because of the simplicity and portability that Quickloads afford.

I'm pretty new to large format. I think that much of my tendency to crop maximally to aspect ratio comes from the comparatively little information on a 35mm scan, and the desire to print large. Having shot 35mm forever, the utility of more real estate has yet to fully sink in.

I suppose I'm also influenced by the aesthetic appeal of having the composition right when the shutter is released.

Jim Ewins
4-Nov-2006, 22:37