PDA

View Full Version : Is there any way to not lose detail when resizing for web?

ae5x
3-Nov-2006, 17:03
Hello,

I'm new to both the format and scanning and am disappointed in my lack of ability to retain detail in my transparencies when resizing them for the web. Is the best way to scan a 4x5 trannny for posting online to scan at 72 dpi or to scan at a higher res for more detail, and then to downsize?

Specifics of what I'm trying to get are here:

http://www.ae5x.com/gallery.htm

I've seen small, web-sized images on numerous sites, so I know it can be done.....but how to do it?!

Thanks,

John H

Sheldon N
3-Nov-2006, 23:54
I find that a good amount of sharpening goes a long way in prepping a web-sized image. You might try oversharpening the original sized file before downsizing. This could be perhaps both a local contrast style sharpening of 15-20,50-100,0 followed by a strong edge sharpening of 150,3,1. Then you downsize the file to your intended size, then do one final light sharpening of 50-75,0.3-0.5,1 for the end result.

All of this is somewhat subject to your taste, and it is possible to overdo it. Experiment to see what you like.

Lazybones
4-Nov-2006, 00:04
Yes, sharpening is correct.

Stewart Skelt
4-Nov-2006, 03:31
My standard Photoshop workflow (which I got from someone on usenet) is to downsample 50% at a time, preceding each downsampling with unsharp mask with the settings of 98%, radius 0.7, and threshold 2. After downsampling to the final desired size, I may or may not apply the same USM settings, depending how it looks. Of course you can adjust these settings to suit your own taste, but the principle is the same.

robc
4-Nov-2006, 05:21
here's a suggestion.