PDA

View Full Version : Is Shen Hao the ideal budget field camera for me?

Anupam
1-Nov-2006, 13:24
Hello,

I am a beginner in LF photography, having started out about a couple of months ago with a Bender 4x5. But I have shot over a hundred sheets in this time so I think I am beginning to get a sense of the limitations of the Bender. I love the fact that it is so light but I think I would really like something more compact and with more precise control over movements.

I want to retain as much of the movements of a monorail as possible but think it might be a good idea to move to a field camera. Now, the little bit of reading that I have done seems to indicate that the Shen-Hao model is the best option if one wants a versatile field camera that is less limited than the Graphics or B&J press cameras. They sell for about $600 new and a little cheaper used, so as a student they are at the very upper end of my budget.

So I would appreciate any opinions about whether this would be the camera to get for me or if there are any other options I should consider. I would like to be able to shoot at least a 90mm (preferably a 75, if possible) with movements without having to change bellows and don't need to go beyond the 360mm of maximum extension that the Shen Hao claims. (http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=120) Also, does this camera fold up with a normal - say a symmar 150mm - lens installed? Any other quirks that you might point out about the shen Hao or other comparable cameras would be appreciated. And of course, if there's anyone near Madison, WI who would let me look at their camera that would be much appreciated too.