PDA

View Full Version : Split Grade Printing Question

brian steinberger
31-Oct-2006, 23:01
When split grade printing, if you want to do a general edge burn how do you do so? I understand doging and burning for both highlight and shadow exposures, but for a general edge burn can I give equal amounts of exposure for each, such as 2 sec. of grade 0 and 2 sec. of grade 5? Thanks

Brian

Brian Ellis
1-Nov-2006, 12:15
I'm assuming that by "split grade printing" you mean the system whereby you make one exposure at a low contrast and another at a high contrast (as opposed to the way some people use the term, which is making a single exposure at a single contrast and then burning with a different contrast). I never thought much of the first way of prining (i.e. making two separate exposures at two different contrasts) so I have no experience with it. But FWIW and since no one else has responded to your question, I think I'd probably choose a low contrast filter for the edge burn. That would tend to darken the highlights and mid-tones a little but leave the shadows relatively unaffected, which seems more consistent with the goal of an edge burn than doing the opposite (i.e. using a high contrast filter which would darken the shadows even more but leave the highlights and mid-tones relatively unaffected).

Kirk Gittings
1-Nov-2006, 12:54
I don't think there is any hard and fast rule. It depends on what is at the edges. For instance a light grey sky will not burn much with a 5 filter but the darker ground would. I think as a common practice I would firat follow Brian's advice and be subtle.

robc
1-Nov-2006, 13:29
I don't want to get into the splt grade printing argument but if all you are doing is burning in the edge, then one exposure at one grade will do it. i.e. there is no need to use two exposures at 2 different grades if they were both going to expose the same area of the print.