PDA

View Full Version : Film Holder brand? Does it matter?

Tony Flora
31-Oct-2006, 15:00
I am new to 4x5 and have read that some film holders are prone to light leaks (wood). Is there a specific brand that is less prone to light leaks? Do any of them tend to hold the film flatter then others? What's your favorite 4x5 sheet film holder and why?

Thanks,
Tony

Eric Biggerstaff
31-Oct-2006, 15:06
Tony,

Most of the Fiedelity, Lisco or Linhof holders will be fine. They come up for sale on eBay all the time and you can score 10 or so pretty cheaply. I have used all of these brands and they each are fine.

Hope that helps.

Merg Ross
31-Oct-2006, 15:19
My collection of film holders includes Lisco, Fidelity, Riteway, Burke & James and Graphic. The latter two are wooden holders. I can not recall ever having a light leak due to a particular design or brand. However, I would suggest that when in the field it is wise to shield the holder with a dark cloth when removing and inserting the slide. As to film flatness, it has never been an issue although I have read of such concerns by other photographers.

Gordon Moat
31-Oct-2006, 15:47
Hello Tony,