PDA

View Full Version : Shen hao groundglass - insight into replacements?

walter23
26-Oct-2006, 11:39
I'm probably ordering a shenhao in the next couple of days, and I'm wondering if you could give me some insight into whether or not I should order a replacement glass or fresnel lens with it? Badger graphic has a satin snow replacement available, and also a fresnel kit. Normally I don't like to order accessories like this until I know I want them, but in this case it would be easier to just get it right away and save the extra shipping costs later. The satin snow is only $9, so I'm tempted to just order it, but the fresnel kit on the other hand is about $80.

The only lens I have right now is a 90 f/6.8, and I plan to supplement it with a 180 or 210 at some point in the future. I've never used LF before, so I'm not sure really what difference a fresnel or satin snow glass might make. I'm sure I could get by with the stock screen, but I have heard it's harder with a wide angle lens like a 90. If any of you more experienced users could let me know what you think about either a fresnel or a satin snow, and how they would compare, I'd love to hear it. It would make my decision a bit easier, as I'm going into this pretty much blind having barely even touched a view camera before (looked over a used monorail in a store once). I've read parts of Steve Simmons' and Jim Stone's books, but didn't come across this particular issue.

Thanks,
Walter

Jim Jirka
26-Oct-2006, 11:46
Walter,
I had a Shen-Hao and ordered a Satin Snow groundglass for it. It was bright enough for me but then again I didn't use it with wideangles.

Josh Z.
26-Oct-2006, 12:11