PDA

View Full Version : Los Angelino diving in...

LADP
24-Oct-2006, 22:05
Hello,

My name is Anthony Hardwick. I'm about to make the leap into LF. In the realm of still photography I have quite a bit of 135mm experience, as well as MF. These days I shoot primarily 135mm BW and various color stocks with my Leica M6 and a couple of lenses. I may get an M8 digital body down the line at some point as well.

Really, most of my experience is in motion picture cinematography, which is what I do for a living. I have been shooting 16mm, Super 16mm, 35mm and even Super 8mm since 1986. In the past couple of years, I have shot a few projects on a variety of HD formats as well.

I graduated from NYU Tisch School of the Arts in 1988 with a B.F.A. in Film, and started working initially as an Assistant Cameraman. I made the switch to Director of Photography in 1995, and have been at it ever since. I have shot a television commercials, documentary films, feature films and episodic tv series over the years in the capacity of camera operator on some and D.P. on others. A film I shot is opening up next week called "Borat: Cultural Learnings from America For Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan." I know it's a mouthful, but check it out if you get a chance... it's pretty funny. It was shot in a documentary style for the most part.

Anyway, I have been interested in getting into LF for personal projects for years. I am about to take the plunge. I have been reading the excellent articles on this site as well as following various threads with interest. I purchased a book, "View Camera Technique" by Leslie Stroebel, and look forward to reading it. Really my hardest decision in a way is whether I will jump right into 8x10, or begin with 4x5. There are pros and cons to both from my perspective, so it will be a tough one to make a final decision on.

I look forward to learning from you all and getting to know some of you hopefully. Thanks for reading my intro.

John Kasaian