PDA

View Full Version : How NOT to Do Large Format, Illustrated -- Part Deux

Alan Davenport
12-Oct-2006, 15:21
In my ongoing efforts to test the boundaries of the photographic world, I have undertaken an informal quest to quantify the methods described in Q.T.'s exellent List of Large Format Mistakes. (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/mistakes.html) Despite my best intentions, my feeble efforts have, to date, covered only a very few of the many choices therein. So many mistakes, so little film...

Today, however, I am proud to announce the discovery of a new and ingenious way to screw up that QT seems not to have mentioned!

I have a couple of film holders that don't have the little "low spot" under the end of the film, making it difficult sometimes to hook the exposed film with a fingernail when trying to extract it from the holder. If you're not careful, and sufficiently ham-fingered (I am an amateur radio operator, therefore ham-fingered by definition,) you can accidentally bend the film so far, when your fingernail finally does get under the film, as to actually crease the emulsion. How many of us knew, that when you put extreme pressure on a film emulsion it will develop as if exposed to light? :eek: Yah, I think I heard something about that. Maybe 30 years ago or so.

Ah, the sacrifices we make in our selfless efforts to expand the knowledge base of humanity. Fortunately (for me) this was one of those times that I actually did make a duplicate exposure, so the lesson was not too expensive.

FWIW, I now keep a guitar pick inside my changing bag at all times. When I get to one of the holders that can lead to this form of stupidity, I use the pick to lift the edge of the film instead of digging at it with a fingernail...

http://home.comcast.net/~w7apd/public/bent_film.jpg

In Your Service.....

Michael Gordon
12-Oct-2006, 16:00
Great idea with the guitar pick!

John Bowen
13-Oct-2006, 03:24
nice photo of the nice little cloud under the bridge ;-)