PDA

View Full Version : Lens Id help....

wingn2a
3-Oct-2006, 14:24
I went over to my girlfriends house the other day and she handed me this. It seems she used to work for a company that did year book photography and they occasionally used a LF camera with a roll-film back. I am new at LF and I’m wondering if what I have is a barrel lens and if all I need is a shutter for it? The glass is pretty much spotless, and I would like to put it to use. “7 ˝” Ilex Paragon” on the front and that’s it. 2 1/16th” long and 2” dia. It looks like it has a built in flange. If this is a barrel lens, what kind of shutter might work with it? …. I am new at this and my ignorance is showing….

Sheldon N
3-Oct-2006, 16:37
It's an Ilex Paragon, which I believe is a tessar design and a copy of the popular Kodak Ektar lens. It's not the best lens out there, but many people have commented that it's quite useable, especially when stopped down. It'll probably be a little soft wide open, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

Yes, you will need some sort of shutter to use it effectively. Most of the time you will see this lens mounted in an Ilex #4 shutter.

It's not a particularly valuable lens. You might get something like $25-50 for it on Ebay in barrel form, perhaps pay $100-$125 for one in a shutter. I've seen them as cheap as $50 in shutter, and I even noticed that an older 5 1/2" model in a partially working shutter sold for $7.

It's probably cheaper to buy another one with a working shutter than it is to have it retrofitted into a shutter.

Donald Qualls
3-Oct-2006, 16:46
Ilex Paragon? Totally worthless -- best send it to me so it doesn't clutter up your space; I'll have to mount it on my Speed Graphic to keep it from getting in the way. ;)

Er...