PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Twin Cities, Minnesota.

LindaRose
2-Oct-2006, 17:41
I see there are other Minnesotans here. I was pleasantly surprised by that. Could you ask for nicer weather for this colorful time of year?

I'm a Photography student, starting last January and one of my classes this semester is View Camera. Most of my friends in class don't think there going to like the view camera but I think I will like it once I know what I'm doing. It does seem a little intimidating especially since I can be a bit more forgetful as I age. I'm unsure what my area of focus will be but for Photo I, I enjoyed taking architectual photos. My instructor said the view camera works great for that.

Right now we aren't having regular class because he is evaluating us individually in one hour time slots. We need to set the tripod and camera up, explain all the parts, zero everything, compose and focus on the subject (an Illford box) and take a polaroid shot. He said he would help us with the film. My classmates and I have been practicing setting everything up. This site has helped me understand things better but so far we are having trouble getting the subject to line up right. I'm glad I'm one of the last to be evaluated so I can practise some more first. Wish me luck.

Linda

Oren Grad
2-Oct-2006, 18:00
Good luck!

Not to worry, it gets to be a lot more fun once you're allowed to take pictures of things other than Ilford boxes.... ;)

Ralph Barker
2-Oct-2006, 18:45
Welcome to the LF Forum, Linda.

Good luck with your class. And, don't worry, all of the basic mechanics quickly become second nature.

John Kasaian
2-Oct-2006, 20:18
Don't fret Linda, its a piece o' cake! Just wait 'til you get cut loose with that puppy---FUN!

Capocheny
2-Oct-2006, 21:01
Hi Linda,

Welcome to the club!

Stick around on this forum and you'll learn volumes from the likes of Oren, Ralph, and John! They're the gurus!