PDA

View Full Version : Temperature Control

Mickey
15-Sep-2006, 12:15
I am new to Large Format but have been doing 35mm and medium format for some time. Since I now have control of individual negative development I want to closely control the temperature during development. My house water is not cold enough to use to bring the temperature down to the right temperature. I have tried ice water baths but that is too unstable.
Has any one encountered and solved this problem?

Thanks

Ron Marshall
15-Sep-2006, 17:38
I hand-roll a Jobo 3006 Expert drum on the $20 Jobo roller base.

In summer I crank-up the aircon, put the Jobo in the fridge briefly, and cool the developer in an ice bath to one degree less than my desired development temperature. By the end of the development time the developer temp is one degree above (I tested this previously, depends on ambient temp.) so the average temp. is what I require.

I could alternatively get stronge aircon that would maintain the air temp at 68, or I could use a higher temp. with a shorter development time. But I prefer not to re-test, and so I stick with the same time.

Brian Ellis
15-Sep-2006, 21:11
"My house water is not cold enough to use to bring the temperature down to the right temperature."

There actually is no "right temperature." While Kodak and maybe other companies specified their times at 68 degrees, it isn't necessary to process at that temperature. You can just as good results at higher temperatures. It's much more important to test and consistently process at the same temperature no matter what it is (within reason of course) than it is to process at 68 degrees. So I wouldn't worry about using ice to bring the temperature down, pick a temperature that is convenient for your situation, test on the basis of that temperature, and use it for all your processing.

Doremus Scudder
15-Sep-2006, 23:50