PDA

View Full Version : Fuji FineScan 5000 flatbed

AnselAdamsX
9-Sep-2006, 04:13
I just learned the local pro lab does not do traditional color printing anymore. Should I pay them $30 to scan my 4x5 slides using a flatbed Fuji FineScan 5000 or buy an Epson 4990 and do the scans myself? What resolution should I have them scan at for Provia film?

I have scanned my 35mm slides using a Nikon CoolScan V and been printing them and my 6mp digital at 11x14 or 12x18 at Costco for $3. My laptop is color calibrated and I use Photoshop CS2 so I am comfortable doing my own scans.

The only other alternative would be to shoot B&W. Which I have no experience at. They still do traditional B&W printing and a 16x20 B&W Enlarged Contact sheet is only $14. Custom B&W printing is more expensive and the lab charges $30 for a 12x18 color print.

Thanks
Chris

Thanks
Chris

Ted Harris
9-Sep-2006, 06:20
For starters, $30 for a scan of a 4x5 is very inexpensive. You need to check how they are doing the scan, the resolution and file size. As for the Fuji Finescan 5000,, there is no comparison between the results it is capable of producing and what you will get from the Epson 4990. The Fuji is a high end flatbed scanner that, properly operated, is capable of producing scans that equal those from a drum scanner. It is in the same league as the flatbed scanners from Screen and Creo. That said, a lot depends on your requirements and the ultimate size of your prints. The 4990 will delver very good scans for 8x10 prints and scans that are still acceptablefor 11x14 prints.

Steven Barall
9-Sep-2006, 08:55
You're starting out with a 4x5 inch piece of film. That really is pretty large. The 4990 with give you a scan capable of great prints larger than 11x14. What you should do though is check this site for scannner info.